“I think we’re just gonna to have to be secretly in love with each other and leave it at that, Richie.” – Margot Tenenbaum

I apologize because this post and last are both talk-y, list-y posts. But I really like lists. And talking. I graduated in June 2012. It’s now September 2012. It has only been three months since I left high school, but it really feels like a lifetime. For the first three and a half years of high school, I was unhappy. I hated going to school, I hated getting out of bed, I hated devoting my nights to homework. I dreamed of the days when I could leave and never come back, when I could do whatever I wanted. In the middle of grade eleven I made some beyond amazing new friends and started hanging out with a new group of people. I love those people. Grade twelve came around and I was able to take classes that I wanted to take and teachers treated me with more respect. I had the best year of my short life. I took Sociology and learned more about life and the ‘real world’ than I did in four years of boring classes. I relished in doing my homework because it didn’t feel like work. I stopped missing classes because I actually wanted to learn. I joined committees. I had fun. High school is over. I’m working two jobs that I really don’t care for and I watch a lot of daytime television. Don’t get me wrong, being able to do whatever I want is nice. I sleep in past seven, I can walk downtown and the stores aren’t closed by the time I get there, and I don’t wake up in the middle of the night worrying about an assignment I didn’t finish. I don’t want to go back to high school, but I still really miss it.

Why I Miss High School So Much: Volume I

– Simplicity

– Best teachers in the entire world (serious)

– Classes that I actually learned important things in

– Being forced to think outside the box

– Sewing class. Sure, I can sew whenever I want, but I miss listening to Project Runway while 15 of us sat at sewing machines, or knitted

– Seeing friends every day

– Structure and routine

– Cafeteria food. We actually had awesome cafeteria food. Now I just eat Mr. Noodles

– Not having to defend myself because I’m not enrolled in university

 

There are some good things about being done high school and not in university.

Why I Don’t Miss High School So Much:

– Teachers that (for lack of a better word) suck at teaching

– Seeing assholes everyday

– I can sleep in during the week!

– I can watch daytime television!

– I have time to blog!

– No homework

I have one piece of cliched advice for anyone still in high school. Enjoy it while you’re there, because it goes by too fast and then it’s over. On an unrelated note, I’m very excited because the old school cinema in my town is having a one night showing of Moonrise Kingdom. I’m a huge Wes Anderson fan (thanks to my Sociology class..) and I was really upset when the cineplex didn’t play the movie because it was too ‘film festival-y’. So I’m finally going to see it and I’ve heard it’s a great movie and I’m really happy it’s finally being played here.

 

Leave a Reply

natureofstarstocross

adventures of an old soul

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

VINTAGE REFLECTION

By Amy Purfield-Clark

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

charlottesfancy.wordpress.com/

Favorite Things, Family Life, Fun Projects

amaryllis log

create something

I Swear We Were Infinite.

"I have loved the stars too fondly to be fearful of the night."

