“I don’t even remember the season. I just remember walking between them and feeling for the first time that I belonged somewhere.” – Stephen Chbosky

30 Days Of Books

Day 03-A Book that completely surprised you (bad/good)

This post has a small spoiler, for anyone that is going to read TFiOS, which I highly recommend.

The Fault in Our Stars – John Green. I bought this book only because it was recommended on the Chapters website as a book someone who loved the Perks of Being a Wallflower would love. That was a horrible sentence. So, I bought TFiOS, thinking it would be similar to Perks. It is, in the sense that it is amazing. I read the whole book in one night, which isn’t unusual. I sobbed through the last half of the book, which is unusual. I mean, I cry a lot. But I was sobbing. I was so shocked and mad at John Green for writing characters that I fell in love with and then (SPOILER), killing such a beautiful boy. I became obsessed. I read the author’s note over and over again, trying to make myself feel better. Then I googled John Green and discovered his other books (which are all equally awesome), his Brotherhood  2.0 vlog youtube videos* with his brother, Hank Green, and nerdfighters.**

TFiOS shocked me because a) it’s so well written, b) it is heartbreaking, c) it really changed my life. I’m obsessed (I feel like I use this word too much) with the vlogbrothers and nerdfighteria and everything they stand for. I’ve logged quite a few hours watching youtube videos and reading lately. It might be a problem.

 

*Brotherhood 2.0/Vlogbrothers: John and Hank Green decided to stop all textual communications and only communicate through video blogs for one year. This was in 2007. They gained a large following and still continue to vlog.

**Nerdfighters: “The fans of Brotherhood 2.0 call themselves nerdfighters. A tightknit and extraordinarily dedicated community, the nerdfighters have raised tens of thousands of dollars for charities and political campaigns, taken over the most discussed pages of youtube, and written hundreds of letters to Merriam Webster lobbying for the inclusion of the word “nerdfighter” into the dictionary.”

Leave a Reply

natureofstarstocross

adventures of an old soul

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

健康とフィットネス&栄養

adventures of an old soul

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

charlottesfancy.wordpress.com/

Favorite Things, Family Life, Fun Projects

amaryllis log

create something

I Swear We Were Infinite.

"I have loved the stars too fondly to be fearful of the night."

