“Screws fall out all the time, the world is an imperfect place.” – The Breakfast Club

My Top Five Favourite Movies:

Royal Tenenbaums: Or really anything Wes Anderson, but the Royal Tenenbaums is my favourite. Moonrise Kingdom was superb as well, but I’ve only seen it once, so Tenenbaums is at the top. I first watched this movie in my Sociology class and I was so in love. All the characters are obviously and deeply flawed and a bit over the top. It’s just so imperfectly perfect. The soundtrack is amazing. Wes Anderson always has great soundtracks. I love Margot and Richie. I love it all.

 

Amelie: I don’t usually watch foreign films or anything with subtitles (except sometimes I watch Friends with French subtitles when I want to study up on French), but Amelie is great. The colours and the way each scene is shot is awesome. It’s a really long movie, but it’s worth it because you need all those minutes to get the whole storyline in.

 

Charlie Bartlett: I loved this before I really loved movies. Up until this year, I didn’t really like watching movies. I’d rather watch an episode of something on the television or read a book. After we watched some really awesome movies in Sociology, I got into movies. But even before all that, I loved Charlie Bartlett. I’m pretty sure I just bought it on a whim because it was on sale at the video store and I had money in my pocket. I absolutely love it. I watch it all the time. I love Anton Yelchin’s character and I really like Kat Dennings in general. I like that Charlie is trying to help everyone. I like that it’s full of unlikely friendships, I like that it deals a bit with mental illness. I like Robert Downey Jr.

 

The Breakfast Club: I love the 80’s. Not in a wow-I-wish-I-was-alive-then way, because I like the internet a lot and modern hair styles. There’s something so simple about this movie but it also touchs on what high school is like. I like that it all takes place in one place. There are no costume changes, no extras, no disasters in the plot. Just good. I also really like Judd Nelson.

 

Fight Club: I did not think that I would like this movie. Again, I first watched this movie in Sociology. I was bad and read the plot on Wikipedia before class because I knew it was going to be hard to understand. But even knowing the ending, it was still great. Edward Norton is a great actor and the contrast between him and Helena Bonham Carter is great. I like that it messes with your head.

 

reading recommendation: an abundance of katherines – john green ( have I already said this one?)

Leave a Reply

natureofstarstocross

adventures of an old soul

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

THEMOVIEBROS.COM

adventures of an old soul

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

charlottesfancy.wordpress.com/

Favorite Things, Family Life, Fun Projects

amaryllis log

create something

I Swear We Were Infinite.

"I have loved the stars too fondly to be fearful of the night."

