“She had a brainy girls discomfort about her own beauty and its effects on folks.” – David Foster Wallace

Wednesday Wishlist: Book Edition

1. i can barely take care of myself, tales from a happy life without kids – Jen Kirkman

Jen Kirkman is a writer and a round table regular on my favourite talk show of all time, Chelsea Lately. I like her comedy and I like her style and I was so excited when I heard that she was coming out with a book.

2. The Perfect Hope – Nora Roberts

I always love anything Nora Roberts writes. I will always buy her books. I don’t mind that the plot lines are essentially all the same. I like the structure and I find it comforting to know that everything will be okay. And I really, really love trilogies and series of books. The Perfect Hope is the last book in The Inn Boonsboro trilogy and I’m really excited to read it.

3. Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares – Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

The first David Levithan book I read was Will Grayson, Will Grayson (co-written by John Green). Then I read Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, which was co-written by Rachel Cohn. And both of these books were so good. WG, WG in my top five favourite books ever. I’d seen the movie version of Nick and Norah beore I read the book and while I love Michael Cera and Kat Dennings, I didn’t really, really love the movie. But I really, really loved the book. So, I have a feeling that Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares will be a great read, seeing as how it’s written by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn. The two of them have also written another book together that I really want to read.

4.  The Boy Book – E. Lockhart

As everyone knows, I’m a bit obsessed with John Green. I was listening to a JG youtube video and he was talking about how he used to write with Maureen Johnson and E. Lockhart and how he was really proud all three books that they each wrote. I’ve read Maureen Johnson and I love her, and obviously I love JG, so I looked up E. Lockhart. And I really want to read her books. I already ordered The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, so that should be arriving any day now. But Lockhart also wrote a series and I really want to read this series.

5.  Brief Interviews With Hideous Men – David Foster Wallace

I will admit that I have not started to read Infinite Jest yet. But even without reading it, I think I like David Foster Wallace. I think I want to read this book. I think that it will also make me feel a lot of different things because I think that’s the kind of writer DFW is.

 

Leave a Reply

natureofstarstocross

adventures of an old soul

Peas and Cougars

If real life were a cartoon, I would be a triangle, which is probably better than being a square.

VINTAGE REFLECTION

By Amy Purfield-Clark

Liesl Made

like handmade, but better.

charlottesfancy.wordpress.com/

Favorite Things, Family Life, Fun Projects

amaryllis log

create something

I Swear We Were Infinite.

"I have loved the stars too fondly to be fearful of the night."

